Over to you, Kew

When I first moved down to London I stayed with a friend in Hanwell. When we looked where this was on a map, my dad noticed it wasn’t very far from Kew Gardens and mentioned how he’d always wanted to visit. How handy that I was going to live so close!

Fast forward 5 weeks and I was having to find a new place to live pretty sharpish (long story), and so I moved into a flat share by Wandsworth Common – a delightful part of London, although not so handy for Kew Gardens anymore.

However, I was committed to taking dad to Kew so on one of their first trips down to visit me, we made the trek out west. Hopping on a Southern train for one stop to Clapham Junction, then changing for the South West train service to Kew Bridge, the journey wasn’t difficult at all. From the station it was about a 20 minute walk to the Elizabeth Gate entrance of Kew Gardens.

Tip: if you want a spot of lunch before your visit, I would highly recommend The Greyhound on Kew Green, perfectly located en route from your walk from the station to the gardens and just a great spot for yummy food and one of the nicest outside seating areas I’ve ever seen. (Fun fact: it was in this lovely pub that Tom met my parents for the very first time – fascinating stuff).

IMG_0006

So basically, Kew Gardens is delightful and a wonderful way to while away an afternoon free from the hustle and bustle of central London. My parents (and Tom and I for that matter!) thoroughly enjoyed strolling along the winding paths, admiring the hundreds of beautiful flowers and exotic plants, and spotting different species of wildlife and birds. The vistas, pergoda, treetop walkway, cherry walk and aquatic garden are all so picturesque and peaceful, you forget you are a mere 30 minutes away from central London.

The gardens are vast and there is so much more to see than just flowers and plants – temples, cottages, Kew Palace, a museum, orangery, lake – so definitely pick up a map or download and print one from the website beforehand. We spent a good few hours there and there were still some places we didn’t visit. Although this does give me a good excuse to go back – hurrah.

We visited in May and there were plenty of flowers and plants in full bloom but also some hadn’t quite burst into life yet. I would love to go again and maybe try a summer month to see everything in all its glory.

Adult tickets to Kew Gardens are £14 for a day pass and it is worth every penny.

2 thoughts on “Over to you, Kew

Leave a Reply

